Members
Latest Member
Joannafit
What's New?

Need tips on growing biceps

S

skinnydude12334

Dec 30, 2020
Hi guys, I'm new to the gym and training and I need an advice on how to grow my biceps. Is it better that I do low reps and high weights or moderate weights and do high reps and sets.
For example, I'm really weak and I can only curl 13kg around 2-3 times for 4 sets before going to failure. I then lift the highest dumbbells I can lift after failure such as 8kg and try to do 7 reps of 5 sets of hammer curls and then I do concentration curls. Is that good for growth or should I lift like 10kg and do 12 reps and 3 sets and then keep the same weight and do the same exercises with 10kg and also have more energy to do more exercises so more volume.

thanks, please let me know if I sound confusing I will rephrase that I wrote.

S

searay

VIP Member
Dec 20, 2017
Bi's are small muscles that can be over trained very easily. They will get all the heavy work they need from rows, pull-ups, etc. etc. Seated db curls are best for bi growth, as far as I'm concerned. Start with arms hanging, palms facing in, as you lift the db turn your hands so your palms face up at the top of the lift and flex. Slowly return to starting pt and repeat 8-12 reps. Variations in angle of the back of the bench and you can also do hammer version on finishing sets. I will add in preacher curls now and then but spend most of my energy on the seated db and my bi's have responded better than ever.

dk8594

dk8594

Apr 16, 2018
This is one I wouldn’t over complicate. Their basic function is elbow flexion. Any exercise that incorporates that is going to hit your biceps.

Three things to keep in mind.

1) Like [mention]searay [/mention] said, they get worked in a lot of other movements including back exercises and any presses using dumbbells so are extremely easy to over train.

2) Full range of motion.