Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

Some tips for shoulder stability, written by AJ

ajdos

Friends Remembered
Sep 8, 2010
I am not some fuckin guru, far from it, but I have 21 years of lifting experience. I have learned the hard way about shoulders and their limitations. So read on maybe you can benefit from my mistakes and trial and error.

Well I think most of us have or will encounter some type of shoulder problems, or injury in our weightlifting endeavors.
Nature designed the shoulder to bear loads in specific ranges of motion, as human beings have evolved from a animal that uses its fore limbs to crawl/walk and now more for reaching and pushing, the shoulder joint itself has had to evolve somewhat with human evolution.
However, like most things that evolve, funtionality usually is not perfect and far from practical in most cases, the shoulder joint being no exception.
Load bearing with the arms raise above the head is especially hard on the rotator cuff.
When it comes to weight lifting several execises can be seen as the culprits of damaging and injuring this joint.
The two biggest are any kind of chest pressing, and any kind of overhead delt pressing...other exercises can bring on injury as well but the biggest two are the aforementioned presses.
Now, with weight lifting and training our first inception into the game was most likely the bench press, and its all too common on a Monday night in any given gym to see trainees of all ages, sizes and shapes pressing away with the straight bar in hopes of increasing their bench press lbs.
One of the first questions you will be asked as a lifer is 'how much can you bench?' - its actually quite ignorant but a part of our sub-culturistic ritual nonetheless.
So, typically trainees blast away with what they think is 'proper form' and yet after a time many will find the flat bench does them in.
Lets take a look at the pressing and see how its bio mechanics can play into the injury of the rotator cuff.