Members
Latest Member
arcticranger

Back surgery, good idea ?

Turbolag

Turbolag

TID's Official Donut Tester
Oct 14, 2012
Hey everyone, just wanted to get some opinions.

Ill go back to where my injury occurred.

2010.... Before I started training for strength as a primary goal.

I was warming up with smith machine squats. I had 275 on the bar and un racked the weight by twisting the bar back. As soon as I did this I felt this SHARP pain in my lower back. I thought it was a muscle pull. I couldn't hardly walk afterward. I had to walk very slowly to the car.

So I just stopped working out for a week because I thought I pulled my lower back muscle. A month later I had to have sinus surgery. About 2 weeks before surgery, I was on prednisone. So my back pain sub sided. I didn't think anything of it, I just thought it wasn't pulled anymore. So after that no more back pain. Basically because I stopped lifting due to some anxiety issues.

So fast forward to 2011. Around July of last year. I was dead lifting in the gym. Going for 455, which I had done a couple times. I was really straining while pulling 455, the. I feel a crack in my lower back.

So this time I go to the dr and get an MRI. It's a bulging disc in my L5/S1

So I go to physical therapy, that helps. Go back to dead lifting, back cracks again and I'm in less pain than before but uncomfortable.

So now, I'm still havng pain. I do a lot of ab and lower back work now. But the pain is uncomfortable.

Will I be able to dead lift 455 again? I've learned to get tight by pressing out on my stomach while squatting and dead lifting.

Has anyone had back surgery? What is the success rate? Will you re injure the area by pulling and straining again?

I know a lot of pro strong men and power lifters have back pain. I do decompression, and stretch.

Actually squatting and dead lifting make the pain stop.

Not sure what to do. I'm 26

Any opinions?

Thanks everyone

Turbolag

Turbolag

Oct 14, 2012