Latest posts

Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

What's the best way to ask someone to stop dropping dumbbells?

Dnsvideo

Dnsvideo

Sep 21, 2010
I need your help. I'm a gym manager for a nationwide chain of fitness centers and I have multiple members who, for whatever reason, cannot resist tossing the dumbbells around, or dropping them after finishing a set.

I have asked multiple members to please stop dropping the weights, and each time, I receive a heavy dose of backtalk and attitude (because, you know, they're obviously the strongest dudes around /s). The reaction of most dudes to my simple request is always very negative, even though many of them are using 35s and 45s (not that heavy for intermediate/advanced lifters). Still, I have to keep asking them to stop, and at the same time, I don't want to lose members or cause the gym to get a bad rep.

SO, I'm asking you, my swolebros, for advice: what's the best way to approach this situation? How should I phrase the question? Is there a specific moment when I should be asking them? Your help is much appreciated.

PillarofBalance

PillarofBalance

Strength Pimp
Feb 27, 2011
If you let them get away with back talk and attitude then you no longer manage the gym. Ask them politely once. The next time they do it basically call them out on how pathetically weak they are that they can't even control a 40lb dumbbell.

Heady Muscle

Heady Muscle

VIP Member
Oct 13, 2014
Yeah,
I don't get the dropping and slamming of weights. It is pretty much a childish activity (need a attention lil' boy? lol).

It is rare I lose control of dumbbells after doing a set of something. But most knuckleheads do after every set. What PillarofBalance said above is spot on.

I would look through the contract you have people sign and see if there is anything in there to use for leverage if it gets to that point. I would consider it misconduct if you ask more than twice.

Good luck!

DF

DF

VIP Member
Jul 7, 2012