Joannafit
What's New?

Volume training

tommyguns2

tommyguns2

Senior Moderators
Staff Member
Dec 25, 2010
I've been training pretty consistently for the past 35-40 years, and I've tried just about every training regimen out there. I built my foundation the way most of us did... years of hard work with progressively heavier weight. I suspect I never gained more than about 3-5 pounds of lean mass in any one year. I still subscribe to the idea that you need to move at least some heavy weight in order to increase your size.

However, in the last two years, due primarily to some modest injuries (partial tears), I pulled back on the heavy stuff and went to almost entirely high volume training. For example, on my bench press, whereas in the old days my working set of 10-12 reps was at 275, I now keep the weight at 135, and do multiple movements (1Xs, 1.5Xs, slow movement throughout range of motion, etc.) for anywhere from 20-50 reps. On my squats, sets with 4 wheels have been replaced with 20-30 rep sets with 185-225, as well as machine work. My knees thank me for it....

Over the past two years I've not grown at all, but I have held my size, and I feel that I've made some progress in muscle maturity and hardness, which improves the aesthetics. So, I'm not any bigger, but I feel like I look a little better.

I've always admired the old school look of the 70s bodybuilders, and bemoan the large puffy looking mass of the top guys now. And I'm thinking that in the 70s, the old school guys overtrained (at least with respect to today's pros), and did substantially more volume. I'm convinced the look provided by the volume is a cleaner, better look. I acknowledge that you can't likely get up over 250 pounds ripped that way, but for us guys who aren't pro BBers, I'm thinking this is much better for me.

VIP Member
Nov 3, 2012
Good points TG. I'm just a few yrs into pl and training that style full time has taken its toll with respect to past injuries.

HDH

HDH