Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

Newbie alert!!! All advice welcome :)

S

Stubbsybabe

Jun 19, 2011
Ok, so here I am, right at the beginning of my body transformation journey and feeling a little bit overwhelmed at how knowledgeable you all seem to be - but hoping I can learn from you all to find out what's best for me!! So, I'm a 5'10" lady, weigh 160 pounds with a bmi index of 23 (yes, I am a very new beginner!!!) and after randomly pottering around the gym for 6 months to get the feel of things, I then started strength training which has really helped kickstart the change in body shape - and I've just started to get that diet is a big part of the process - so what's the next best step?? Continue strength training, introduce cardio, work different muscles on different days or try and get a full body workout in on 1 session??? What are good family fav meals, do I cut calories first to loose fat or eat more to build muscle or vice versa???? So many questions and I would love to here how everyone else got started and how you manage to fit training in between work, kids, family etc - after reading so many different books/articles etc I just feel completely confused as to the best step forward - thanks, in anticipation of all your help and knowledge :eek:)

Lizard King

Lizard King

Administrator
Staff Member
Sep 9, 2010
Welcome to TID.

Why don't you post up your current routine and diet and I am sure the fine people here will be able to help you meet your goals.

S

Stubbsybabe

Jun 19, 2011
Ok, routine wise the last several weeks have been :
Routine A - squat(with 10kg dumbells) 15reps, 3sets
Push ups 15 reps, 3 sets
Seated row (37.5kg) 15 reps, 3 sets
Step up (10kg dumbells) 20 reps, 3 sets
Prone jackknife 20 reps, 3 sets

Routine B. Deadlift (10 kg dumbells) 15 reps, 3 sets
Dumbell shoulder press (9kg dumbells) 15 reps, 3 sets
Wide grip lat pull down 40kg 10 reps, 3 sets
Lunge (9kg dumbells) 10 reps, 3 sets
Swiss ball crunch 20 reps 3 sets