Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

Abdominal Hernia

C

ccjc81

Feb 2, 2011
Just got a hernia, after doing back the other day felt a marble size lump protruding above my belly button,very sore. Went home and layed down and it subsided but i can still feel it and its painful.going to doc today.should i stop lifting altogether?

AllTheWay

AllTheWay

TID Lady Member
Mar 17, 2011
see what the doc says. i think several of guys on here have umbilical hernias and still lift. the initial tear is always painful because of the damage done to the tissue.

ajdos

Friends Remembered
Sep 8, 2010
Ive had an umbilical for years, see what the Dr says each case is unique, depends where the tear is, above the belly button can be different.

IronInsanity

IronInsanity

TID Board Of Directors
May 3, 2011
Ive had an umbilical for years
Same here. Got it before I started lifting. I've never had any pain associated with it, but would like to get rid of it. From the limited reading I've done, if it goes down when you lie flat on your back, you're OK, but if it doesn't or it causes pain, you should be more concerned. Good luck bro.

MPMC

MPMC

VIP Member
Jul 22, 2011
I got one last year after training abs one day. They cramped up for a good 5 mins, hurt like hell. Next day, there it was. Dr said it wasnt anything to worry about unless it hurts or bothers me. The only time I really feel it bothers me is when I am bloated. Over time it has started to feel better and not bother me near as much. Maybe I have just gotten used to it though..

AllTheWay

AllTheWay

TID Lady Member
Mar 17, 2011
in general, they are not big deal. usually will get some omentum in them and as long as a section of bowel doesnt go in there they arent much to worry about. they can be fixed laprascopically but often times if the surgeon isnt used to fixing people who actually workout than they will reaccur once heavy lifting resumes.

best to check with your doctor and go from there.

tommyguns2

tommyguns2