Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

1200 cals too low?

S

Sherriperoni

TID Lady Member
Mar 25, 2015
I hired a trainer to help me get lean before I go to Cuba in 7 weeks.

I recently started lifting again and eating right again after taking a 3 month break from everything. I didn't exercise at all and ate junk carbs and drank pop and coffee. I was stressed, tired, sick and didn't make time for my health (which I regret).

Anyway, my body fat went from 17% to 22% (apparently) and my lean muscle mass went from 98lbs to 85lbs. I have a lean frame to begin with so this is a huge difference for me. This is according to a body fat scale and I know they're not super accurate. I have a bit of a pooch now and look and feel bloated.

The trainer suggested a 1-2 day fast (no calories at all) followed by a 1200 calorie high fat, extremely low carb diet. The low calories concerns me greatly. I lift 4x/week and do HIIT 2-3x because I enjoy it.

Is there another way to get lean and in shape again in 7 weeks without cutting calories so much? I already reduced from 2200 daily to 1600 daily. 1200 seems like way too little.:(

Kimm4

Kimm4

TID Lady Member
Feb 5, 2016
7 weeks isn't a ton of time but you can make some nice changes in that time frame. 1200 calories is quite aggressive and most people don't need to go that low. What's your height and weight? If you give me that I can give you better feedback. A low carb diet isn't needed. Carbs are an important fuel that's needed for training and recovery. Give yourself and decent amount so you can function properly though out the day and you'll feel better.

S

Sherriperoni

TID Lady Member
Mar 25, 2015