Latest posts

Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

Water Obsession - Do you really need so much water?

• Thread starter Steve Armstrong
  • Start Date
Littleguy

Littleguy

TID Board Of Directors
Sep 30, 2011
"I don't drink it at the gym though cuz I don't want to look like a pu$$y :D"

Me neither, the guys and girls with the jugs and Culligan water jugs look so stupid haha, I lick the sweat off the hot chicks when I need a drink!!
Unless LK is there of course then I just suck moisture from the hair in his armpits:p

alpha

alpha

VIP Member
May 1, 2012
I have been drinking 1 gallon of water a day for a few years and definitely notice when I don't get as much water. lately I have increased the intensity of my workouts and diet, and have been getting cramps during workouts. My coach said I need to increase my water intake because cramps are a sign that my body is using salts to eliminate waste, and if I consume more water it will take less salt for my kidneys to eliminate waste, thus easing the burden on them.

So the past couple weeks I have been drinking 1.5 to 2 gallons per day and I am still finding I get thirsty sometimes! LOL. Kinda crazy, but definitely working for me because my cramps have subsided.

Unfortunately there isnt much "fact" on why we get EAMC (exercise associated muscle cramps). It used to be the general consensus that muscles would cramp during exercise due to dehydration and electrolyte loss. Obviously we DO know that when you sweat, you secrete water and electrolytes (sodium, potassium, magnesium etc) which are the same electrolytes that help control muscle nerve impulses that allow your muscles to contract, so that only makes sense as to why a muscle would cramp.