Latest posts

Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

What adjustments does my new strength training routine need?

T

Tom9999

Apr 12, 2024
Hey all, I've started seriously working out recently (New Years Resolution) and for the first time I'm sticking to it with no quitting in sight. My goals are both endurance running (want to beat my half marathon PR of 2 hours) and equal parts strength and hypertrophy. Overall goal is balanced fitness.

I’m confident what I’m doing is 1,000x better than my previous laziness of the past few years, but also that I’m probably far from optimal. As I’m just starting out, this is the time to make a good habit and so I’m really craving some serious feedback and optimization.

Here is what I've been doing each week:

Day 1: Run

Day 2: Weights
- 2 sets x 10 reps Squat with Biceps Curl
- 2 sets x 10 reps Chest Press
- 2 sets x 10 reps Biceps Curl
- 2 sets x 10 reps Incline Chest Press
- 2 sets x 10 reps Biceps Curl with Supination
- 2 sets x 10 reps Incline Chest Flys
- 60 second plank
- 3 sets x 10 reps single leg calf raises on steps (bodyweight)

Day 3: Run

Day 4: Weights
- 2 sets x 10 reps Lunges
- 2 sets x 10 reps Shoulder Press
- 2 sets x 10 reps Squat
- 2 sets x 10 reps Rear Delt Fly
- 2 sets x 10 reps Deadlift
- 2 sets x 10 reps Front Lateral Shoulder Raises
- 60 second plank

Day 5: Run

Day 6: Weights
- 2 sets x 10 reps Sumo Back Row
- 2 sets x 10 reps Triceps Overhead Extension
- 2 sets x 10 reps One Arm Bent Over Back Row
- 2 sets x 10 reps Bench Triceps Extension
- 2 sets x 10 reps Squat Shoulder Thrusters
- 60 second plank

Day 7: Rest/Yoga

The runs I'm doing a Tommy Rivs ifit program and building up, mostly zone 2, and not looking for as much feedback there.