Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

There and Back Again: A HOB's Tale

HOB_Fly2023

HOB_Fly2023

Apr 27, 2023
Hey all, thanks for the warm welcome.

I've been training for 15+ years and worked as a personal trainer for about 4 years. Recently went through a rough divorce and lost motivation to eat properly and train for the last 6 months. I feel like I've lost a lot of progress and have made my way into "skinny fat" territory. I've been to the gym twice this week, so far, and have started eating well again. Looking forward muscle memory helping me to getting back in shape. The foundation I built is still there and I'm hoping the next 3 months see me getting back to 90% or so of my former self, just in time for summer.

Lifestyle and Activity:
I'm a commercial pilot and construction project manager, so my day to day physical activity is minimal. Whether I'm sitting in the cockpit, monitoring flight instruments, or sitting in a rental car, telling guys to put their hardhats back on, I am not very physically active most of the day. My hobbies aren't very physically demanding either. I am a licensed skydiver, a competitive shooter, and a musician.

Diet:
I burn through calories like a furnace and always have so, in my anecdotal experience, I need roughly 4500 calories a day to gain efficiently, and about 3,600 to maintain. As we all know, that is hard work and can get pricey.

Apart from my 1 cup of coffee in the morning, I only drink room temperature water.
Carbohydrate sources are mainly pasta, white rice, wheat bread, and a complex carb powder from Transparent Labs.
Protein comes from eggs, chicken, lean ground beef, and ribeye pork chops.
Fats come from nuts, avocados, olive oil, and butter.

Training: