Latest posts

Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
lk has no balls

What can I expect with New wraps and Oly shoes?

uphillclimb

uphillclimb

VIP Member
Dec 9, 2011
Referring to squatting for this topic and curious to what some of the guys say about what's to be expected once I implement new knee wraps and new squatting oly shoes.

I've only used wraps mayyyyyybe 3 times in my life and it was years ago. For those that don't know, I'm getting my feet wet for the first time in a PL meet (competing in Full Power-220lb class-raw modern) for October....only recently have I switched up training in prep for this meet and I'm a complete newb (numbers aren't impressive) when it comes to this sport but I'm learning, absorbing and implementing new things every day from a few trusted brothers.....battled a few injuries on the way but as I prep for a new program starting in july; I'm really eager to increase the numbers but also give myself the best shot at moving the most amount of weight.

I'm only squatting in socks or chucks with no wraps at all for now....just a belt. For my birthday at the end of the month, I'm treating myself to:

new Adipowers http://www.adidas.com/us/product/training-adipower-weightlifting-shoes/DA847
New wraps: http://www.roguefitness.com/sling-shot-knee-wraps.php
and although off topic, I'm grabbing a slingshot also to try and get used to heavier weight while working on my pathetic bench.

Current squats are up 30%...yes 30% since I've tweaked some things over the past 8 months.

405 x 2 is my current rep PR, I haven't done a 1RM attempt in a while but with the new program I'm running (14 weeks designed for PL'ing in prep for the meet), I'm thinking that I may have 460 or higher for the meet.

What type of difference do wraps and proper shoes make for you and what would you think I were to expect by implementing both of these into my regimen on heavy days?

Turbolag

Turbolag

TID's Official Donut Tester
Oct 14, 2012