Latest Member
RalfKelleh
What's New?

To Be A Bodybuilder, Eat Like A Bodybuilder

woodswise

woodswise

TID Board Of Directors
Apr 29, 2012
To Be a Bodybuilder, Eat Like A Bodybuilder, by Woodswise. September 21, 2013.

It took me years to learn how to eat like a bodybuilder.

I had been lifting recreationally for more than 15 years, but was not making the progress I wanted. The muscle gains were slow because I wasn't eating enough. Then when I started eating enough, I got fat and in the end gained only a small amount of muscle. For my bulk, I ate a normal diet, only a lot more than normal and used bulking as an excuse to eat more of the goodies (dessert, sweets, etc.). I read a few places how you needed to eat more protein, so I added more meats and eggs, but no one actually sat me down and told me how to eat or helped me structure a diet. Finally, tired of not seeing the gains i wanted, and especially tired of the permabulk, I decided to make drastic changes to everything, including diet.

Protein is the foundation of the bodybuilding diet, whether bulking or cutting.

After quite a bit of reading online, I found a common thread that made sense to me: Eat 1 to 1.5 and possible as much as 2g protein per lb of lean bodyweight each day. When bulking, eat an excess of Kcals -- 500 to 1000 Kcals above maintenance. When cutting, eat in a defecit of Kcals -- 250 to 500 Kcals below maintenance. When bulking most of the macros to make up the Kcals will be the protein and carbs, with little fat (100g or less).

When cutting you can diet on protein and carbs or on protein and fat (ketogenic diet). You can eat less protein during a cut, than on a bulk.

Fat and carbs should not be mixed in large quantities, because it is easier to get fat while eating like that. To stay lean, if you are going to eat a diet heavy on carbs, keep the fats low. If you are going to eat a diet heavy on fats, keep the carbs low.

Measuring / Calculating Your Basal Metabolic Rate (BMR)