Latest Member
pbtom
What's New?

Shrugs - shoulder or back

macgyver

macgyver

TID Board Of Directors
Nov 24, 2011
I wouldn't worry about specific trap training at his age and experience. Have him stick to deads, bent rows and OHP's and traps will be taken care of. I train ppl for a living and don't stress on isolated trap work unless it's a weak point. Teach him proper form on back and shoulder work and his traps will grow.

What does his workout look like?

Was going to post the same thing. Sticking to larger compound movements will build coordination and core strength also. Building muscle groups with a compound movements also will help prevent development of muscular imbalances because he's engaging and functional movement.

I would avoid most isolation exercises in general especially for a beginning trainer.

Best of luck! I've been trying to encourage my 13-year-old to get in with me but he has not really taken to it. On the other hand my 17-year-old daughter has been crushing it!

IronInsanity

IronInsanity

TID Board Of Directors
May 3, 2011
I like to do trap bar deads with shrugs at the top of the movement.

Bro Bundy

Bro Bundy

MuscleHead
Nov 1, 2012
I always used them to build up my traps but I’m sure it’s hitting all over the area

rAJJIN

rAJJIN

TID Board Of Directors
Nov 30, 2011
For me there like calves..... such a small
muscle and ROM. They could be whenever IMO with the more the better if trying to get results from them.

The other Snake

The other Snake

VIP Member
Aug 19, 2016
That's a great age and even better if he's in the gym with you.

Like others have said, shrugs go with shoulders. Now if ya want to hit traps with an upright row, it gets a bit tricker because you're using the bis. Since bis normally go with back, upright rows become a problem.