Members
Latest Member
Kiddorism

Really thinking of Getting into Power Lifting

Ramrod

Ramrod

MuscleHead
Jun 5, 2012
I have been lifting and training pretty hard for a good amount of years. 32yrs old now and have been geared more towards Size. When I started lifting I weighed 150ish. I'm at 191 lbs right now. I have never lifted Equip'ed, besides from Knee Wraps and a Belt.

I have just started going for some added strength and Putting up 320 lbs for Bench, 405 lbs for Squats and Deadlifts I'm not 100% on. I had a knee injury a couple of years ago so my numbers are just started to go back up. I feel I can still make easy strength gains. Since I just started training more towards Power and not size.

For my weight class what kind of numbers do I need to aim for to do well at this? I feel I can get a 1300 Total very soon. But I haven't been to a Power Lifting Meet since High school and weighed only 130lbs. lol

Thanks for the Help guys.

BrotherIron

BrotherIron

VIP Member
Mar 6, 2011
Doing "well" is a hard thing to quantify. I mean a 500lbs squat, 315lbs bench, and 500lbs pull all raw would be competitive in the 185lbs weight class.

Halo

Halo

MuscleHead
Jul 5, 2011
I had this same dialogue about 10 months ago, seems like I can't remember not powerlifting now. I love it, I love the team I lift with and I love the things I'm capable of in gear, although a fact is getting into gear is like relearning how to lift and it's not easy it's brutal, but I think you'll love it!!!

Ramrod

Ramrod

MuscleHead
Jun 5, 2012
Doing "well" is a hard thing to quantify. I mean a 500lbs squat, 315lbs bench, and 500lbs pull all raw would be competitive in the 185lbs weight class.