Threads
Members
Latest Member
pbtom

Powerlifting routine for a beginner

S

Slag

Apr 21, 2011
I am looking to focus on powerlifting or increasing my three mainlifts when I start bulking after my cut, does anyone know of a good beginner powerlifting routine that's either a

powerlifting or powerbuilding split? I am really looking to get my lifts up!

Current stats

age 20 weight 201 height 6'3 I have been lifting for 3 months

Bench: 185 x 6 using 1MR calculator = 214 1RM

Deadlift: 275 x 6 using 1MR Calculator = 319 1RM

Squat (below parrellel): 225 x 4 using 1MR Calculator = 245 1RM

BrotherIron

BrotherIron

VIP Member
Mar 6, 2011
Try Wendler's 5-3-1 Routine. I think that would be a good place for you to start.

SAD

SAD

TID Board Of Directors
Feb 3, 2011
^^^^^^^^^^^This, or the 5x5 for beginners. Smart move, by the way. Train for strength, and the size will follow.

S

Slag

Apr 21, 2011
Was looking at Wendler and 5x5, I think I will start with 5x5

Workout A

Squats 5x5
Bench Press 5x5
Barbell Row 5x5
(Maybe Barbell Curl 3x8)

Workout B

Squats 5x5
Overhead Press 5x5
Deadlift 1x5
(Dips 3x failure)

I was wondering doing squats 3x a week I feel like I would become bottom heavy since my quads when flexed now already have the side bump and bottom bump, Would it be ok to just hit it once a week and go from there?

Also could I add barbell curls 5x5 or 3x8 and maybe dips and side laterals as well?

Also should I wait till I am done cutting to start or start during my cut?

SAD

SAD

TID Board Of Directors
Feb 3, 2011