Members
Latest Member
RalfKelleh
What's New?

Overhand vs Underhand chin ups

georgia21

georgia21

Aug 30, 2010
Is there really much of a difference between the two? Personally I do overhand for a wide grip, but do the underhand for a close grip since it's more comfortable for me to do.

Ramrod

Ramrod

MuscleHead
Jun 5, 2012
I do the same as you. What ever is more comfortable to do. Might every once in a while change the grip up some. Just to hit the muscles a little different.

P

PedX

Jun 13, 2012
I start with a few sets of overhand wide grip then switch up to underhand narrower grip for a couple more sets.

T

TonyB

Jul 10, 2012
Not to sound weak as hell but I just started training and am having difficulties with pull-ups...I have searched various articles and even tried the search function on here but would anyone have any advice on how to get stronger to even do a pull-up let alone multiple sets.

Forum has a wealth of knowledge and I'm just trying to figure out where to start

69nites

69nites

VIP Member
Aug 17, 2011
Not to sound weak as hell but I just started training and am having difficulties with pull-ups...I have searched various articles and even tried the search function on here but would anyone have any advice on how to get stronger to even do a pull-up let alone multiple sets.

Forum has a wealth of knowledge and I'm just trying to figure out where to start

Lat pulldowns, maybe the assisted pullup machine.

A good one is doing negative only pull ups, jump up to get up, pause at the top, and do a very slow controlled descent.

Keep trying tho, those failed reps are work too.

BLTC

BLTC

VIP Member
Dec 23, 2010
Is there really much of a difference between the two? Personally I do overhand for a wide grip, but do the underhand for a close grip since it's more comfortable for me to do.