Members
Latest Member
RalfKelleh
What's New?

New to powerlifting

MrBear

MrBear

Nov 27, 2017
I have been lifting weights for many years now, I use it as stress/anxiety relief. Lately however, I started to question, why haven't I been lifting for a purpose? Why don't I start putting all this time I spend in the gym to good use? As such, I have decided to start training for powerlifting. There is an open meet in August I am entering and want to train for that goal.

My main question is, should I do a series of peaking programs or should I do something different?

Stats:
34 years old
310lbs
6'2"
435 raw bench
Never maxed deadlifts or squat but I have gone over 500lbs on both.

Is there any other information I should put down?

e95bcfef6ec2bfea54209ac4db166170.jpg

Last edited:
R

rawdeal

TID Board Of Directors
Nov 29, 2013
Oh man, have you come to a good place for PL info . . . Welcome. I'm not your man, but there are guys here who should charge for the info they regularly exchange. By all means snoop around the entire TID board, but spend time in the PL and Strength Sports area. As to "any other info" from you, it might help them some to know about the meet you're targeting . . . what federation, raw, equipped, full meet or no, stuff like that. Those will evolve into long range decisions too if you stick with PL, but might as well focus on August for now.

tinymk

tinymk

Feb 5, 2013
Welcome brother. Nothing worth having comes easy and if your choosing to slip to Powerlifting it has the potential to assist you in focusing your lifting for a purpose. I also lift to help with anxiety and keeping me calm when I am not in the gym but after training as a powerlifter so long, I lift to be the best "me" as I can be.