Latest Member
RalfKelleh
What's New?

How much cardio?

ginger_rn

ginger_rn

TID Lady Member
Mar 21, 2012
Hello everyone. I am looking for some cardio advice. If you have read my intro then you know I am new to training in the gym. My husband knows weightlifting, not cardio. I am down to 206 and my goal is 160. Starting this week I am doing 45min cardio 6xweek; 3.5mph on tred at 4.0 incline and 15min on ellipt or vice versa, depending on whats available. I go to a very small gym with limited cardio equipment. Is this amount sufficient to get to 160; anything to add or subtract from routine? Also once I reach my goal weight and start building mass what cardio routine is recommended to keep the fat in check? I carry my weight in my abdomen, waist, and lower back area as well as hips. Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated!:)

S

SugarFree

Feb 23, 2012
Hi Ginger, cardio is good for burning calories but calories burned from cardio are just as likely to come from muscle as they do from fat. I've had much better weight loss doing no cardio at all, using only dieting and resistance training. I have gone from 40+% body fat to under 8% with as little as 10% coming from LBM. Im not saying that cardio is useless but would definitely suggest prioritizing a good weight lifting regime over it.

shan

shan

TID Lady Member
Jul 1, 2011