Latest Member
jacobss
What's New?

High school football training

Snachito1

Snachito1

VIP Member
Jan 12, 2018
One of my good buddies is a local high school football coach and they lost their weight conditioning coach so he has to take that over along with coaching/teaching . My buddy asked me if I could help, but I have no experience in that area, so I come
to you brethren can anyone recommend a good book, or DVD that can help us out. The team really only has like 2 hours a week to lift, but hopefully we can squeeze some good training once
we get it. Thanks in advanced!!

DieYoungStrong

DieYoungStrong

VIP Member
May 27, 2013
Sorry bros. My wife is recovering from a pretty major spine surgery and I haven't been around.

3 questions - 1. what's the lifting schedule (I'm assuming it's 2-3 days a week after school?) 2. What do you have for available equipment at the weight room? 3. How big is the program - How many kids you expect in the weight room at most sessions?

DieYoungStrong

DieYoungStrong

VIP Member
May 27, 2013
Hit up Wendlers website. He has tons of vids talking about the programming he does for kids he coaches.

Good advice right here. Wendler's stuff is great for HS athletes. Everyone here has a lifting background so learning a few things shouldn't be hard.

Football players need to do hang cleans and explosive work. They aren't bodybuilders - they're athletes.

R

rawdeal

TID Board Of Directors
Nov 29, 2013
. . . .
Football players need to do hang cleans and explosive work. They aren't bodybuilders - they're athletes.
And so sayeth Bill Starr, whose book may have popularized the notion of strength training for other (any) sports ... and who may have suggested a whole new job for NCAA and NFL teams to include on their payrolls.

Starr, btw, briefly held the Deadlift record at 198 back when PL was just beginning to supercede Americans' interest in OL, but he thought strength training for sports was about more than OL, PL, or BB.

Last edited: