Members
Latest Member
RalfKelleh
What's New?

Hey from PA

Bean

Bean

Jul 26, 2020
Hey everyone, another new guy here. I’m 37, I have 3 year old twin boys, and I’m a barber by trade. I used to power lift in high school, had some pretty good mass built, but y’know life . So I’m retry out of shape, and not proud of it and on top of that I have type 2 diabetes. My sugar was pretty out of control, even with meds, and I was scared I might not live past 50. A few weeks or a month ago I was driving down the road, and I saw a weight bench, weights and a curl bar someone had put out for trash, so I grabbed them and threw them in my suv. From there, I got a standard weight bar (these are standard weights), dumbbells, a squatting pad for my neck, some more weights and another curl bar. The second curl bar was given to me along with another 45 lbs of weights. So I currently have about 340 lbs worth of weights. My current schedule is upper body one day, lower body the next day, and rest the next day. I’m also taking whey protein and consuming as much protein as I can in a day, usually getting at least 100 grams a day.

Mike_RN

Mike_RN

Senior Moderators
Staff Member
Aug 13, 2013
Welcome Bean, these first big steps back are always the hardest. Congrats on making your mind up to change your health.

monsoon

monsoon

Senior Bacon VIP
Nov 1, 2010
Welcome Bean. Might I suggest throwing in some walking on your rest days? Good for gpp and recovery

Jin

Jin

MuscleHead
Jun 15, 2018
You’re going to
Need moar protein.

1g per pound body weight is a decent rule of thumb.

Probably shouldn’t mention things like neck pads or lifting gloves. Unless you’re one of those special guys like CFM who has no shame.

Welcome.

Ex Pat, Philly born.

BackAtIt

BackAtIt

MuscleHead
Oct 3, 2016
You’re going to
Need moar protein.

1g per pound body weight is a decent rule of thumb.