Members
Latest Member
Rolanalon
What's New?

First competition in just over a month

J

jamiem

May 18, 2012
hi guys newbie here, unsure how many strongmen are on here but you have a subforum all about it so there must be enough intrest lol

basically i have been training at a strongman gym for the last three years, but only just started training the events in the last year.

because its a strongman gym ive been to the events they host and watched friends compete, but this time i thought id give it a shot.

ill get a list of the events i did have a copy of them but i cant find it.

im looking for tips on technique etc.

im pretty strong at pressing my bench is 140kg max log over head max is 105kg

metal block press 80kg for 5 reps etc.

one of the events i havent done before is hand over hand seated truck pull.

now just so you know this is a novice event so weights are lower.

any tips on things that could give me the edge or lifts to train with to help in events.

i can lift the atlas stones up to 110kg 125kg i just can get lapped.

the last 3 months ive started squatting and deadlifting (i was all about the upper body before lol)

my squat has went from 120kg to 170kg in that time and deadlift from 140kg to 190kg in that time also.

Would changing from back squat to front squat be better for these strongman events?

sorry for all the questions lol

Many thanks jamie.

Rottenrogue

Rottenrogue

Strongwoman
Jan 26, 2011
Back squat is a staple and front squat should be an accesory . We have a decent amount of folks that train strongman style on here .
The two women we have are myself and Mightymouse. I have been competing since 2004 and have gone to WSW in poland.

Mightymouse is our masters female national champion and going to 75kg and under WSW in scotland this year .

J

jamiem

May 18, 2012
excellent im from scotland lol, the gym i train at is hosting the scottish final shortly.

MightyMouse719

MightyMouse719

National Champion & VIP Member
Jul 8, 2011