Latest Member
willypear
What's New?

Callouses from lifting

guss

guss

MuscleHead
Aug 11, 2010
Have had these ever since I started training, but never this bad/annoying.

Lately the callouses have been blister like, by popping/tearing off and exposing raw skin underneath (no blood). it is painful to touch and i seem to get them when i do heavier stuff i.e. deadlifts

will gloves/chalk help?
what about moisturising?

Im sure some of you will suffer the same problem

chicken_hawk

chicken_hawk

MuscleHead
Oct 28, 2010
Use a razor like a utility knife blade and cut em off. Got that from an old PLer.

Hawk

pux888

pux888

MuscleHead
Oct 1, 2010
I try and keep mine as long as there not torn,they do a great job protecting my hands.

Lizard King

Lizard King

Administrator
Staff Member
Sep 9, 2010
I pick them between sets, LOL

Pumice stone in the shower works pretty good to keep them from building up too.

milleniumgirl

milleniumgirl

Sep 12, 2010
Moisturizing won't help. I used to have calluses all the time, now I wear lifting gloves.

HawaiianPride.

HawaiianPride.

Oct 21, 2010
If it gets out of control, then yes your best bet is to give gloves or big back grips a try until they heal.

doug

doug

Nov 1, 2010
I tend to just peel them off. And I've also tried moisturizing and, as milleniumgirl said, it did not help at all. If they get too troublesome, get a good pair of lifting gloves.

JayFive

JayFive

Oct 27, 2010
This'll sound weird but I saw something about this a while ago on some other site. I tried it too and it worked but who knows.

Crush around 6-8 aspririn tablets up into a powder and add lemon juice until it makes a paste. Apply the paste to the calluses and let sit until it dries (I actually used guaze to tape it on there for a bit cuz it was difficult to get it to stand). Once it dries, rinse with warm to hot water and go at it with a pumice stone.

Got rid of mine pretty quickly but I'm going to go ahead and say "Individual results may vary".

Sadie