Kiddorism
What's New?

Belt during training?

BovaJP

BovaJP

Senior Moderators
Staff Member
Feb 15, 2013
I have been lifting weights for 20+ years now. Back in the day, i used to wear a belt only during like back or leg days, but now i wear mine for all workouts/lifting sessions. Except for cardio, but then again that is not lifting lol.

Currently I have a RitFit one, i think its 6", foam, etc. I like the fit but its only a cpl months old so its not worn in just yet lol.

Do you wear as well?

Happy Lifting y'all.

Bigtex

Bigtex

VIP Member
Aug 14, 2012
The idea of wearing a belt in training is that the belt greatly helps to increase pressure in your thoracic cavity. This also accomplished when you flex the abs and hold your breath as you start the eccentric movement of the lift, The belt provides a wall for your abs to push against, greatly increasing thoracic pressure which in turn helps to stabilize the spine/core. That being said, the belt is really only functional when you are doing heavier (85% 1RM+) lifts such as squats, deadlifts or even overhead lifts.

There are some schools of thought that believe that using belts with lighters weight may actually cause the core to weaken, thus putting the spine and core at risk of injury and possibly stunting the growth of the transverse abdominus. This could also lead to diastasis-recti, which is a partial or complete separation of the rectus abdominis. Lots of powerlifters have this and it is also common in heavy weight BB's who train very heavy.

Now do I wear one? I have ruptured disks between the L4 and L5, I only wear a belt when I do bent over rows. I no longer am able to do squats or deadlifts or nor do I do anything over 85% 1RM.

Littleguy

Littleguy

TID Board Of Directors
Sep 30, 2011
I never wear one and never have, I feel it promotes weakness in the supported area thus leaving you prone to injury in everyday life.