Members
Latest Member
Kiddorism

Are you a Powerlifter?

uphillclimb

uphillclimb

VIP Member
Dec 9, 2011
This was told to me and I'll pass it along...

If you haven't stepped up on the platform and gotten a total, you aren't a powerlifter.

Just because you know how to throw a football, doesn't make you a football player, either.

I'm no expert by any means, but seen a few people at the gym in the last two days claim to be....and it seems like the younger generation feels the right to say they are a powerlifter because they bounced 405 off the deck a couple of times.

End rant/

C

C T J

Crossfit VIP
Jan 24, 2013
Between powerlifting, weightlifting (oly), and crossfitting I'm the best at powerlifting but not a powerlifter (never competed)

DieYoungStrong

DieYoungStrong

VIP Member
May 27, 2013
You're not a powerlifter until you have a total on the books. If you're a guy with a 600lb total on the books, you are a PLer. If you have a 2000 lb gym "total", you're an insanely strong gym rat, but not a PLer.

A new guy came in my local gym (close to home when I can't train with the team) with a Westside shirt. I got all excited thinking there might be another PLer around. Nope, not a Pler. I nicely told him that he was like a guy wearing a Harley shirt without a bike.

C

C T J

Crossfit VIP
Jan 24, 2013
This poses the question. Is someone that trains hard for aesthetics, size, etc. but doesn't compete a bodybuilder?

Last edited:
RAIDEN

RAIDEN

VIP Member
Feb 22, 2012
Am I a powerlifter? No, but I eat like one :D

uphillclimb

uphillclimb

VIP Member
Dec 9, 2011
This poses the question. Is someone that trains hard for aesthetics, size, etc. but doesn't compete a bodybuilder?
This is in the PL forum for a reason lol.

But to answer...from my POV, no. However that question has some ambiguity to the answer because of the title and the nature.

C

C T J

Crossfit VIP
Jan 24, 2013
This is in the PL forum for a reason lol.