Latest posts

Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
lk has no balls
What's New?

10 Healthy Snacking Strategies for When You Get the Munchies (Deanna Schober)

SHINE

Friends Remembered
Oct 11, 2010
As a nutrition consultant, I have found that the number one issue that most people face isn’t their planned out meals, but rather, the in-between time. There are a million reasons why we reach compulsively for unhealthy snacks, even though we know we shouldn’t, but here are just a few:

Boredom
Stress
Anxiety
Sadness
Hormone Changes
Low Blood Sugar
Lack of Planning
Loneliness

I’ve helped my clients get past their compulsive snacking with the following strategies. Give them a try, and see if they work for you.
Exercise

It may sound silly and the last thing you’ll want to do, but when you feel like reaching for the chips or cookies, make yourself a deal that first, you’ll do some quick exercise. Walk around the block, do 50 crunches, pushups, or jumping jacks. This accomplishes two things:

The activity will release certain hormones that will calm your cravings and make you feel less hungry
If you decide after you exercise to go ahead and snack, you’ll have increased your insulin sensitivity through the exercise, and the extra glycogen will be used to replenish what you just used instead of storing it as fat.

Here are 35 more diet and exercise hacks for losing weight.
Drink Water

Try drinking a giant cup of water. Filling up your stomach might signal your brain that you’re full and help with the cravings. Adding some flavor, like lemon, cucumber, or mint, can help satisfy the cravings as well.

Read more about why drinking water is the secret to fat loss.
Save It For a Cheat Meal