Members
Latest Member
pbtom
What's New?

Reprogramming for longevity in the gym!

klbsa

klbsa

Jan 5, 2011
I'm 45 and I am still doing 5 reps for most things BUT......... My knees feel like hell, recently my shoulders have started to take forever to get back to ready status after training. I think the time has come to accept my old man status and at least go up to 8-10 reps.

I notice as I get older I am automatically focusing more on muscles that are more useful day to day rather than just to look jacked (like forearms, calves, lower back abs.....)

moebrane

moebrane

Oct 5, 2022
Yep.
At 65 I tear-up easier

BPC 157 helps

My ego gots to take a backseat to the reality.
I am really becoming aware of it this year, recovery is not the same

I am not good with moderation

A1food4u

A1food4u

VIP Member
May 9, 2012
59... and noticing that I hurt myself way easier and more often... nothing huge but the aches add up... right now the shoulders are really rough, couldn't hang the halloween lights on the gutters without the extension ladder. Couldn't hold the lights up over my head for long periods and hang the clip... felt really lame... I think for me its a lifetime of improper warmups and stretching at the end of a workout.... so now I got the PT girl handing me the pink weights at rehab...lol she laughs and laughs.....

midevil

midevil

TID Board Of Directors
Jan 20, 2011
62 I adjusted my training years ago after a couple injuries.

The general consensus among the replies is that we're lifting lighter and smarter as we age. Yet I think if we're honest weight choices vary up to "moderately heavy" not always light?

I'll always throw in a few moderately heavy sets but NOT to failure every time I train. I never train to failure. I'll not fight the weight to the point of needing a spotter to help get the weight up. I'd rather do drop sets (on occasion).