Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
pbtom
What's New?

So....when did macros stop being important?

macgyver

macgyver

TID Board Of Directors
Nov 24, 2011
Thanks Bro, I appreciate the compliment and overall tone of your post.
My stricter discipline has evolved because of a desire for health and longevity rather than such a heavy emphasis on aesthetics.
In previous years, I was far more loose with macros / specific choice of foods. I have many years experience with a looser diet while training compared to my way of eating now where I place emphasis on macro ratios, feed timing, frequency of eating and abstaining (with both IT and extended fasting), avoidance of specific foods all together (other than a well earned cheat meal occasionally).
In fact even over my past few years of this transition, my cheats have switched from donuts and haagen dazs to a 10oz serving of mixed fresh fruit and/or a fast food spicy chicken sandwich.
The results differ radically most noticeably in composition and systemic inflammation. Along with other differences like water balance and recovery.
I can and do consume a larger overall weekly caloric total than the previous loose style way of eating, and have much better composition results. Running on fat (predominantly saturated fat) for fuel rather than glucose, or a combo of glucose and fat (a fat storage combo), the difference couldn’t be more pronounced.

All the above is sharing of an emphasis on the evident physical results — and for me to delve into the differences on cardiovascular / cholesterol, inflammatory factors, digestion, general metabolic and so forth benefits for health, would turn this thread a more technical in-depth direction.

Just also wanted to say I appreciate the exchange. You and I are in similar places and walked similar paths. I am approaching 50 and for me quality of life takes precedent over being the biggest or strongest.