Forum Statistics

Threads
Members
Latest Member
Kiddorism
What's New?

Less weight, higher reps = shit just got real?

dechrist

dechrist

Jan 8, 2011
So I have been training for 12 years, started juicing a year and a half ago. Always stuck in the 6-8 rep range with relatively heavy weight. Was pleased with the gains I made while natural. Now since gearing up, I've definitely made some decent gains but not quite where I think I should be for the stack I'm running.

Anyway, was reading a lot of opinions regarding legs and how higher reps lighter weight work better... decided to give it a shot and holy fuck was it excruciating but good.... legs were shaking by the 3rd set of 12. So I figure maybe this higher rep stuff will work for every area. Well it seems to be so far... arms/shoulders were insane, could barley reach the steering wheel they were so pumped. Haven't done chest or back yet but I'm sure the results will be similar.

This whole time I thought time under tension/isolation was the most important thing but it seems that higher reps are just as important. The pain is much deeper, the pump almost unbearable but I feel like Im growing big time. Just want to hear some ppl's input on this, like are higher reps straight up better for size or am I just caught up in the gym pump?

BrotherIron

BrotherIron

VIP Member
Mar 6, 2011
You're just caught up in the gym pump...

You wanna get bigger, then lift bigger numbers correctly.

OldManStrength

OldManStrength

VIP Member
Apr 8, 2015
Brotheriron..........This guy has the info, not some pay site...

PillarofBalance

PillarofBalance

Strength Pimp
Feb 27, 2011
I do high reps for legs. Hell I just did a top set of 5 in squats a couple weeks ago. Brutal! Took 19 minutes to catch my breath

jolter604

jolter604

Aug 23, 2016
I like to switch it up month to month works for me

OldManStrength

OldManStrength

VIP Member
Apr 8, 2015
Yeah... got me scratching my hear too.